Hassan Sheikh Mohamud becomes the new President of Somalia

Former President of Somalia Hassan Sheikh Mohamud was elected the 10th President of the country.

In the first round of the election, Said Abdullahi Dani was ahead of Mohamed Farmacu and other candidates but failed to secure a two-thirds majority.
Said Abdullahi Dani, Mohamed Fermacu, Hasan Şeyh Mohamud and Hasan Ali Hayri became the 4 winners of the second round.

In the second round, Hasan Şeyh Mohamud received 110 votes, Mohamed Abdullahi Fermacu 83, Said Deni 68 and Hasan Ali Hayri 63 votes.

Hasan Şeyh Mohamud and Mohamed Abdullahi Fermacu competed in the second round of the elections. Sheikh Mohamud, who received the majority of the votes, became the new President of the country.

Mohamud will serve as the President of Somalia for 4 years.

Hassan Sheikh Mohamud becomes the first person to be elected President of Somalia for the second time

Hasan Sheikh Mohamud served as the 8th President of Somalia between 2012 and 2017.


Related Articles

Back to top button