Gabon and Togo joined the Commonwealth

Two Francophone West African countries became the first new members to join the Commonwealth of Nations after Rwanda in 2009.

Following the Commonwealth Forum in Rwanda, the group of 54 nations, mostly former British colonies, accepted the membership applications of Togo and Gabon.

“We welcome Gabon and Togo as new members and welcome them to the Commonwealth family,” Rwandan President Paul Kagame said in the closing speech of the forum.

Togo Foreign Minister Robert Dussey stated that membership opens the door to 2.5 billion consumers in the Commonwealth world and will create new opportunities.

Gabonese President Ali Bongo said his country was “making history” by joining the group. “Sixty-two years after its independence, our country is preparing to turn a new page,” he shared on Twitter.

“This is a world of opportunity for Gabon at the economic, diplomatic and cultural levels.”


Related Articles

Back to top button